Baguettes – Egg-less & Gluten Free

For a change of pace from what I normally eat, today I baked egg-less gluten-free baguettes, and I can say that I am not disappointed with the results. They really look and taste like bread! Although these GF baguettes do not have the same flavor and texture of traditional baguettes, they have a pleasing earthy flavor all their own. It is hearty, crusty, with a tight, soft crumb.

I really like this bread even if I am not on a gluten-free diet. It’s fun to tinker around with gluten-free ingredients and eat something different. I am still learning about the GF flours so I decided to use a GF All-Purpose Flour mix made by Bob’s Red Mill. Also, I didn’t want to spend too much buying different types of flours just yet. My pantry is getting full of various baking ingredients. Since this GF All-Purpose mix has garbanzo bean flour and fava bean flour, those flours contributed to an earthy taste to the bread, only very slightly tasting like beans. It didn’t bother me. I thought it was a very pleasing flavor. I think the honey that I used tempered the flavors from the bean flour.

Inspired by egg-less baguettes from ArtisanBreadinFive.com, I adapted their recipe using the GF All-Purpose Flour and some other substitutions listed below. In their awesome bread-making book, Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day, there is a great chapter on GF breads and their basic GF bread recipe can be found there and on their very helpful blog:  http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/2010/01/05/gluten-free-crusty-boule. I have made many of the non-GF breads from the three Bread in Five books, and love all of the variations that I have tried.

Lovely gluten-free baguettes 🙂
Substitutions
  • Flour:   So for this GF bread, instead of using sorghum and tapioca flours, I subbed in 4.5 cups of Bob’s Red Mill GF All-Purpose Flour. I used the amount of brown rice flour indicated in the recipe.
  • Binder:  Also, instead of xanthan gum, I used the same amount of pectin powder (Sure-Jell brand) that acts as a binder and also reacts with the other ingredients to mimic the glluten strands in the bread dough. Without a binder, the bread would be crumbly.
  • Eggs:  Since I wanted to make an egg-less bread, I used their flax-egg substitute with instructions here: http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/2010/06/01/gluten-free-baguettes-egg-free-and-a-king-arthur-gluten-free-flour-giveaway. I was worried that since I did not use xanthan gum, I would not get enough elasticity and the gluten-like strands in the dough, so I added more flax-egg substitute, enough to replace 6 eggs.

Despite all the substitutions I made, I did not have to adjust the amount of flour or liquid. The dough that I made was close in texture to what I saw in the pictures of the original recipe.

It may sound complicated because I tinkered and substituted, but it’s really just dumping in the dry ingredients and mixing in the liquids in the recipe. Then the dough gets a 2 hour rise at room temperature and then it is ready to be shaped and baked. Or, after the first rise, the dough may be stored in the fridge for up to a week.

Spongy! Here’s the dough after the 2 hour rise + overnight rest in the fridge. I halved the recipe so that’s why the dough looks smaller than the pictures in the original recipe.

Shaped three baguettes and topped them with sesame. This is before the 40 minute rise. You can top it after the rise also.

After the 40 minute rise, the loaves looked like they have puffed up a bit. It won’t rise too much. They are slashed with a sharp serrated knife and placed on a baking stone in a preheated oven. It baked for about 30 minutes with steam.

Pretty loaves cooling down.

After doing some more baking (I also made apple pie bites today), the bread cooled down and was ready to eat!

This was my very first time tasting and making gluten-free bread, and I’m surely going to make more. Really, even if you are not on a gluten-free diet, this is a darn good baguette. Try it!

10 thoughts on “Baguettes – Egg-less & Gluten Free

    • Thanks. Trying to be more G-F. It’s fun experimenting with G-F ingredients. I love your blog! You have some nice recipes there that I want to try soon! Like some of your recipes, I may be tinkering with baguettes for awhile. Lots of people say you need xanthan gum for G-F baking for the best results, but I’m trying to avoid it.

    • It was my first GF bread so I was excited about it. I was tinkering around with a recipe. Since I used Bob Red Mill’s all purpose flour, which contains garbanzo bean flour, it had some of that earthy bean-y taste, but I liked it. Also, I didn’t use xanthan gum, which would make the bread lighter. This bread had a spongy-type interior, but you have to wrap it really tightly to store it so it keeps that texture. Baguettes are crustier than other types of bread, so if you want less crust and more of the soft interior, maybe a boule would be a better shape. If you are interested, the original recipe (no bean flour) is here: http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/2010/01/05/gluten-free-crusty-boule
      Happy Baking!

What do you think?

